2014 Men’s Club Championship Round 3 Summary

SPLENDID spring weather and a course in excellent condition met the players for ‘moving day’ in this year’s club championship.

The big mover in A Grade was Jarrod Gerhmann who fired a fine 73 to move into 5th position, while Paul Hazeltine scored a great 72 to close the gap on the leaders. Steve Rippon still leads by 8 from Adrian Bell 216 to 224.The unlucky Tony Panecasio missed out on a countback to play in the final 8 and will lead the charge to challenge the top eight. In the nett, Adrian (203) leads by 4 from Mathew Bell and 6 from Paul. With both Bells playing in the last group the question must be asked, “Which Bell will ring loudest”?

In B Grade the big news was the injury, and subsequent withdrawal, suffered by Wayne Griffiths in his warm up. We all wish Wayne a quick recovery. James Thompson (246) had his lead trimmed to 6 over Tim Young with the fast charging Tom Zimmermann a further shot back and Bernie McGlinchey only 10 behind after a solid 80 and Arthur Bosanquet 11 behind after a 79. James leads the nett on 198 with his closest competitor being Con Kiayias on 207. As you cannot win the gross and nett then any of the other top 8 appear capable of winning, not to mention those close by the top eight.

In C Grade Paul RODGERS (269) has increased his lead to 5 over Ron Hewson (274) who fired a grade best 87. Phil Hellmund moves down to third on 276 with Tim Condon a good chance on 278. All the top eight are in with a show and a good round might just ‘seal the deal’. As for the nett, Paul leads on 206 from Phil on 207 with Ron on 208. You can’t win two prizes so this trophy is very much up for grabs.

Congratulations to all those members who have qualified in the top eight in their respective grades. Your tee times for next Saturday are listed below.

 Championship seeded draw qualifiers

A Grade:   8.48 tee time
J Gehrmann, T Persson, S Hainsworth, P Munro
8.55 tee time
S Rippon, A Bell, P Hazeltine, M Bell;

B Grade9.02 tee time
A Bosanquet, C Kiayias, L Dare, A Ball
9.09 tee time
J Thompson, T Young, T Zimmermann,  B McGlinchey;

C Grade9.16 tee time
P Adams, J Johnson, G Templeton, J Childs
9.23 tee time
P Rodgers, R Hewson, P Hellmund, T Condon;

Thanks also to our major sponsor, Drummond Golf Warrawong, for their continued support of our major event.

Dave Ransom

2014 Mens Championship Round 3 A Grade

2014 championship Round 3 B Grade

2014 Mens Championship Round 3 C Grade


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s