2015 Mens Foursomes Championship

A beautiful winter’s morning greeted the competitors in the 2015 Foursomes Championship. Defending champions Matt and Adrian Bell had teamed up again but were confronted by the best golfers in the club keen to win the first of the 2015 championships.

The course was in excellent condition and with the greens running smoothly an exceptional day of high-quality golf was expected over the 27 holes of the championship.  Early pace-setters Tom Persson and Paul Hazeltine set the mark at 111 against a par of 100. After close finishes in the previous two events they were hoping to perhaps take that next step this year. Following them in, Adrian and Jarrod Gehrmann just failed to reach this target with a score of 117. Arthur Bosanquet and Wayne Arnott along with Ray Orr and Pete Munro came in at 120. Scott Hainsworth and Tony Panecasio charged home but still could only manage 123 after a poor start. This left the teams of Pat Paris -Steve Rippon and Matt – Adrian Bell on the course as the only pairs with a chance to catch the leaders.

With nine holes to play Paris – Rippon were at 78 needing to go under par to catch the leaders and the Bells were at 73 still with a great chance to take out the title for the second year running. The task proved too hard for the former as they faded to finish on 123. The Bells on the other hand still were a great chance until a poor tee shot on the 17th caused an equally poor recovery shot for them to record a disastrous 8. A bogey on the last and they finished with 115. Tom and Paul were the champions.

2015 Foursomes champions, Tom Persson and Paul Hazeltine
2015 Foursomes champions, Tom Persson and Paul Hazeltine

In the nett section it was close as well with Lew Dare and Bruce Byers winning by ¾ of a shot from Tim Young and Shane Townsend, 102.25 to 103. Regular nearest-the-pin sharpshooter Bruce also won the prize for his shot on the 9th to 252 cm.

Well done to all 28 competitors and a big congratulation to new champions Tom and Paul on their first Jamberoo club Foursome title.

Dave Ransom

For full Results click Mens Foursomes Championship 2015v2


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s