2016 Jamberoo Open report

Jamberoo Open Trophy 2

A perfect winter’s day met the 92 competitors for the Jamberoo Men’s Open. Working tirelessly over the past week our dedicated greens staff had the course in great condition despite the storms of the previous week. Good scoring was expected due to the very strong field gathered.

Danny Nesbitt from Moore Park Golf Club and Paul Maslen from Moss Vale Golf Club tied for the Open with 1 over par rounds of 68. A playoff should have been required but both golfers were unavailable so it was agreed by both that the Australian countback system should decide the winner. Danny was then determined the winner with Paul taking the runners up prize. Congratulations go to both for excellent rounds of golf.

Jamberoo Open Trophy 600

The nett winner was local player Phil Hahn with a 67 nett on a countback from Anthony Wetzel of the Grange who was awarded the runners up nett prize.

The A division gross winner was Emmanuel Aravanis from Riverside Oaks GC with 71 on a countback. The A division nett winner was Lachlan Maddinson from Shoalhaven Heads GC with 68.

The lower divisions saw Jamberoo players use their local knowledge to good effect.

B division Gross winner was Con Kiayias with 83 while Peter Francis took out the nett with 71 on a countback.

C Division Gross winner was Phil Gosling with 93 on a countback while Russell Vale’s James Podmore won the nett with 67.

The nearest the pins were won by Paul Maslen on the 3rd and Justin Bensley on the 11th, while renowned big-hitter Chris McGrath from Shoalhaven Heads recorded the longest drive of the day on the 14th. The ‘super shot’ was won by Jamberoo’s Jarrod Gehrmann.

We thank all players for their attendance and hope you enjoyed the day at Jamberoo. If the golf wasn’t to your expectations then at least you had a beautiful walk in the most splendid, scenic surrounds.

We also would like to greatly thank our sponsors, Drummond Golf of Shellharbour for their continued commitment to our Open.

Congratulations to the winners on the day.

Dave Ransom, captain


PS Could all prize and NTP winners please contact the club to arrange the pick-up of your prizes?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s