News from the Course 1st October

Steve Rippon 600
Steve Rippon won the A Grade Club Championship in 2015. This was Steve’s third successive victory.

Men’s Championships Approach

Saturday October 8 sees the commencement of the 2016 Championships. To those new members who may not know, the Championships are played annually over 4 rounds of stroke play on each Saturday in October. Prizes are awarded for the gross winner, runner up and nett winner of each grade. They are the ultimate, most prestigious prize on offer at the club with a annual trophy awarded to each grade’s champion.

This year defending A Grade champion, Steve Rippon, may not be able to defend his title considering his long-time bout with illness. If Steve does not play then many other A Graders are ready to assume the mantle of club champion. 2015 B Grade champion, Tom Zimmermann has moved to A grade so a new champion will be crowned. 2015 C Grade champion Bob Small and D grade champion Les Farkas are also looking to make another good showing. It should be a fascinating contest with many capable players ready to shine.

Each week there will be a separate competition for all players, even those who, for what ever reason, have missed a Championship round. The normal comp prizes will still be on offer.

Good luck to all members.

Slow Play

Complaints of an early morning group who are losing contact with the group ahead have been reported to the match committee. Members are reminded to play ‘ready’ golf and to follow the group ahead and not lead the group behind.

Finding Nemo

Popular Sunday starter Bruce Hammond had a sad incident on the 4th hole last Saturday. Apparently his electric golf buggy decided not to stop before the creek and plunged deeply into Hyam’s Creek. Bruce was seen trying to dry out his equipment but alas his buggy has drowned.

I thought it unkind of those members who were calling out “Eddie the Eel” and “did you find Nemo”?

Junior Open Results

Rainy weather beset the outset of Thursday’s Jamberoo Junior Open. This did not discourage the small but talented field present. For the record Wollongong Golf Club junior Jackson Hall fired a superlative 68 off the stick to win the Open by 7 from Shoalhaven Heads’ golfer Cooper Maddinson. Stableford winner was Wil Daibarra from Kiama while Jamberoo’s Brad Good won the nine-hole event.

This Week’s Results

Good weather attracted many golfer’s to our competitions this week. 

Saturday’s westerly winds certainly had an effect on scoring with 36 points being good enough to win first prize in the ‘super grade’day. On Wednesday Toby Bartle managed a whooping 45 points to easily claim first prize in his grade. Most of the rest of us found the course more difficult. In the Ladies comp on Tuesday, Jennelle Anderson had a great day winning her division and a couple of nearest the pins.

Just a quick note about yellow marked water hazards. If your ball enters a water hazard, even if it is from the other side, you have only two options. At the cost of one penalty stroke, you may either play a ball keeping the point you crossed the hazard in line with the hole. Make sure you keep this point in line with the hole, even if it is behind a tree. You can go back as far as you wish. Alternatively you can replay your shot from the original position, also for the cost of a penalty shot. 

Well played to all winners.

Saturday 1 October 2016 – Men’s Stableford Super Grade Day & Ladies Stableford

Winner Donald Roberts 36 pts (c/b) 2nd Place Chris Leckey 36 pts (c/b) 3rd Place John Corr 36 pts 4th Place Harrison Kiteley 35 pts (c/b) (Kiama GC)

Best Gross Score Darcy Bond 28 pts (Kiama GC)

Ladies Winner Cheryl Legge 34 pts 2nd Place Elizabeth Armstrong 31 pts

Thursday, 29 September 2016 – Jamberoo Junior Open

Jamberoo Junior Open Winner Jackson Hall (Wollongong) 68

Gross Runner Up Cooper Maddinson (Shoalhaven Heads) 75

Nett Winner Jack Headrick 67 nett

Stableford Winner Wil Daibarra 35 pts Stableford Runner Up Brad Williams 32 pts

9 Hole Winner Brad Good Runner Up Kynan Good

Wednesday 28 September 2016 – Men’s Stableford

A Grade Winner Tony Panecasio 36 pts

B Grade Winner Toby Bartle 45 pts B Grade 2nd place Greg Rodgers 38 pts

C Grade Winner Gary Harvey 39 pts (c/b) C Grade 2nd place Tim Condon 39 pts (c/b)

D Grade Winner Dave Ruddy 35 pts (c/b) D Grade 2nd place Peter Wheatley 35 pts

Tuesday 27 September 2016 – Ladies Par

Winner Div 1 Jenelle Anderson +1 Runner Up Shirley Dixon -1 (c/b)

Winner Div 2 Louise Bell -1 (C/b) Runner Up Lyn Walker -1


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s