News from the Course 29 October


Club Championships Conclude

It is my pleasure to announce the 2016 Club Champions.

In A Grade Stephen Rippon was victorious with a gross total of 295; The Nett winner was Peter Munro with a score of 276.

In B Grade Andrew Ball was victorious with a gross total of 330; The Nett winner was Alan Jones with a score of 272. Alan was awarded the trophy as Andrew could not win both trophies.

In C Grade Errol Stubbs was victorious with a gross total of 357; The Nett winner was Mark Fisher with a score of 267.

In D Grade Les Farkas was victorious with a gross total of 390; The Nett winner was Ian Martenz  with a score of 269.

Congratulations to all the winners and commiserations to all the other competitors who put in gallant efforts in their pursuit of the titles. The competition was very close this year, especially for the nett awards and 54 members completed all 4 rounds.

Steve Rippon benefited by the late withdrawal of nearest competitor Adrian Gehrmann for the 4th round and fired a 79 in the last round to easily win the championship by 17 from Mark Cassel with Adrian Bell a further shot back. Pete Munro’s final round 75 for nett 64 enabled him to pass many of his fellow competitors and win the nett title by 3 from Scott Hainsworth with Ken Bradley and John Paul a few further shots back.

A superlative final round of 76 by Andrew Ball saw him win B Grade by 2 from round 3 leader Greg Seymour and by 6 from Arthur Bosanquet. Andrew also recorded the lowest Nett score of 270 but as he had already won the B grade championship the next best nett was awarded the trophy. Alan Jones closed with a nett 67 to finish on 272 one ahead of Phil Hellmund and Stephane Seveque and two ahead of Ron Chiby, whose triple bogey on the last proved to be costly. A very close competition indeed this year in B grade.

Errol Stubbs has won C Grade where his final round of 95 was just good enough to defeat Mark Fisher by 2. In the nett Mark turned the tables to win the prize with a nett total of 267, 6 clear of Errol, and 7 clear of Gary Harvey.

Les Farkas has defended his title in D grade after his final round 91 let him pass Ian Martenz to win by 11 shots with John Corr third one shot further back. Bob Crooks and Peter Wheatley were also close finishing on 405 , 15 shots in arrears. Ian was able to win the Nett on 269 one ahead of the unlucky John Corr who suffered on the last hole needing 4 putts to finally find the hole.

The pressure felt by the players today was intense as the scores blew out over the back nine. Don’t be disheartened by this but treat it as a necessary growing experience in your golf development.

Congratulations to all 54 members who completed the 72 holes. The tournament was very closely contested and in my opinion the best in memory. I can’t wait for next year!

Revised Prize Schedule

From November 1 there will be a slight change to the way we calculate prize allocations in each grade. This has been done in response to requests from members.

Starters in grade              Places                                      Vouchers

1 to 5                                        0                                            grade collapses

6 to 24                                     1                                             $35

25 to 36                                   2                                             $35, $30

37 to 50                                   3                                            $35, $30, $25

51 to 69                                   4                                            $35, $30, $25, $20

70 plus                                    5                                            $35, $30, $25, $20, $15

Split Six Rules

Next Saturday sees a team event held at the club. The rules are attached below on the link.


The following week is the start of the new season with the first monthly medal held. It is also the Gold Medal round where the winners of the previous 12 monthly medals playoff.

This Week’s Results

Saturday 29 October 2016 

Men’s Stroke 4th Round Men’s Championships  & Ladies Stroke

A Grade: Winner Peter Munro 64 nett

B Grade: Winner Andrew Ball 61 nett  2nd Ron Chilby  64 nett

C Grade: Winner Vince Byrnes 66 nett (c/b)

D Grade: Winner Les Farkas 63 nett

Ladies Winner Margaret Cook 74 nett

Wednesday 26 October 2016 – Men’s Stableford

A Grade Winner Wayne Griffiths 35 pts

B Grade Winner Dave Ransom 39 pts

C Grade Winner Mick Familo 44 pts

D Grade Winner Ian Foy 37 pts

Tuesday 25 October 2016 – Ladies Stableford

Div 1 Winner: Kay Brennan 41 Pts Runner Up: Marg Stephens 39 Pts

Div 2 Winner: Lisa Bell 41 Pts Runner Up: Rose Sheath 38 Pts


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s