2017 Jamberoo Open

Ray Orr Jamberoo Open 2017
Ray Orr 2017 Jamberoo Open nett winner proudly holds the Fredericks trophy

Each year about this time the Jamberoo Men’s Open is played, usually in high winds. So it proved again today where the 76 players were greeted by a strong nor-westerly wind. The course and greens had firmed up and with the flags towards the edges, a stern test was put to the competitors.

With the field consisting of several past Jamberoo Open champions and with many single figure golfers playing, a good score was to be expected to win the event. The champion today was The Links Shell Cove’s Colin Mitchell who fired a great 3 over par 70. This score was good enough to win by one from last year’s open winner Danny Nesbitt and Russell Vale’s Paul Fairall.

In the nett section, Ray Orr was successful with a 66 winning by 2 from Con Kiayias and Bruce Byers. Ray played an exceptional round despite the discomfort of a neck injury and was the only player to beat his handicap on the day. Ray was especially pleased due to his whipping of club champion Steve Rippon who had fired an 80 compared to Ray’s 75.

In some interesting golf, Steve Townsend, from Russell Vale GC,  scored a brilliant eagle 3 on the 12th today but strangely managed a double bogie 5 on the par 3 13th. Even par for these two holes! Perhaps he read the par’s on these two holes backwards?

Several good rounds were destroyed today in the ‘Jamberoo triangle’ with many a player having a sad tale to tell about the 16th, 17th and 18th holes. Nothing a cold beer could not fix I am sure.

Cooper Maddinson, from Shoalhaven Heads GC hit his drive on the 14th a mammoth 292 metres to take out the long drive, Chris Leckey won the B division nearest the pin on the 11th with a shot to 290 cm while Eric Greentree won the A division nearest the pin on the 3rd with a shot to 330 cm.

Jamberoo Golf Club would like to extend our greatest thanks to Drummond Golf Shellharbour for their generous sponsorship of our Open and to Dale Walton for representing them today.

A full list of prize winners follows. Congratulations and well played to you all.

Jamberoo Open Winner Colin Mitchell 70, Runner Up Danny Nesbitt 71 (c/b)

Nett Winner Ray Orr 66, Runner Up Con Kiayias 68 (c/b)

A Grade Gross Winner Paul Fairall 71  Nett Winner Bruce Byers 68

B Grade Gross Winner Will Bromley 83   Nett Winner Alan Jones 69 (c/b)

C Grade Gross Winner Michael Burton 93    Nett Winner Nathan Joannou 69

Balls to 75 nett.

An event like this cannot happen without the efforts of many people. Thank you to Stuart Potter, Marie Ransom, Peter Young, Bruce Hammond, Linda McGlinchey, Sue Paul and Lance Fredericks for your help.

Above all, thank you to all of our competitors for supporting the Jamberoo Open. We hope to see you all again next year (and yes we will try and find a nice flag position on the 18th!).



One thought on “2017 Jamberoo Open

  1. Congratulations Ray. Deserved win. Anyone who is still practising the night before at 11:30 PM is a true golf devotee. Well Done.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s