News from the Course – January 5

2019 Rules of Golf

The use of new rules have commenced, including a new local rule concerning lost balls or out of bounds balls. Please read the previous article for a full explanation.

As an addition, the suggested local rule of a two shot penalty for a ball hit out of bounds or lost instead of the usual ‘stroke and distance’  has also been adopted. You must follow the procedure outlined on the notice-board or in the preceding article.

Monthly Putting Competition

Don’t forget that in every monthly medal a free putting competition is held. All you need do is record on your card how many putts you had on each hole and tally them at the end of the round. Place this total next to the name on the card in a circle. The lowest number of putts wins. If there is a tie then a draw is held to work out the winner.

Today two players finished on 28 putts, Peter Francis and Wayne Arnott. Peter was the lucky draw winner.

Each monthly winner has a chance to win the Golden Putter Award to be held on the Gold Medal Day.

New Coffee Machine in Operation

For just $2 you can now have a gourmet coffee at the club before, after, or in fact during your round. The machine is located in the Golf Shop and reports are that the coffee is terrific.


Congratulations to Larry Osterhaus for holing his tee shot on the 9th today. A perfectly struck 7 iron headed for the hole and in it went. Well done Larry.

You will be awarded 6 balls from the club and have the successful ball mounted as a permanent reminder of the perfect shot. Your name will appear on the GolfNSW St Hallett Wines Hole in one register on the GolfNSW web page and you will receive a special commemorative shirt.

Jamberoo Mens Pennant Teams

Congratulations to the following members on their selection in one of our Pennant teams for the 2019 season which commences in February.

B Pennant

Tony Panecasio (c), Arthur Bosanquet,  Rob Young, Pete Munro, John Paul, Ken Bradley, Ray Orr

C Pennant

Dave Ransom (c), Tom Zimmermann, Wayne Griffiths, Boyd Sylvester, John Anthony, Chris Leckey

White Horse Cup Red (Jedi Cowpats)

Col Booth (c), Tim Young, Pat Paris, Bryan Nicoll, Peter Francis, Dylan MacDonald, Shane Townsend

White Horse Cup Green (Magpies)

Larry Kent (c), Wayne Arnott, Geoff Wilson, Peter Young, Don Thompson, Phil Gosling

This Week’s Results

A new year and renewed spirit! 

Anthony Smith started the year in hot form scoring 45 points of his 10 handicap on New Years Day. That’s a 68 off the stick. Fellow A Grader Wayne Arnott also played well scoring a nice 41 points.

Harry Osman also continued his grand run of form winning again on Wednesday with 42 points. Four others were one adrift with Greg Seymour taking out second place on a countback. Interestingly all 4 grades were involved in the winners circle.

Gail Rutledge was the winner in the first of the Lady Veteran stableford  competitions winning by 1 from Loretta Green and Shirley Walsh.

On Saturday the early hot and sweltering conditions were displaced by a gigantic thunder storm and torrential rain leaving 26 players unable to finish their round. Some good scores were recorded before the rain with Wayne Arnott shooting a 63 to win A Grade, Brian Underwood a 62 to win B Grade, Laurie Fogarty 63 to win C Grade and Donald Roberts 69 to win D Grade. A pity about the rain and lightning as several of those unfinished rounds maybe could have been converted into winning scores with a good finish. Better luck next time for those unlucky late starters today. 

Saturday, 5th January 2019 – Monthly Medal

A Grade:   Wayne Arnott 63 nett

B Grade:   Brian Underwood 62 nett   2nd:   Col Booth 64 nett   3rd:   Gary Eagleton 65 nett

C Grade:   Laurie Fogarty 63 nett   2nd:   Peter Hughes 64 nett

D Grade:   Donald Roberts 69 nett

Ladies: Lyn Berringer 70

Gross Winner: Wayne Arnott  74

Hole in One 9th: Larry Osterhaus

Thursday, 3rd January 2019 – Lady Veterans  Stableford 

Winner Gail Rutledge 37 Pts 2nd Loretta Green 36 Pts (c/b) 3rd Shirley Walsh 36 Pts

Wednesday 2nd January 2019 – Stableford 

Winner: Harry Osman  42 pts   2nd:  Greg Seymour  41 pts (c/b)  3rd:  William Perry  41 pts (c/b)  4th: Brian Underwood  41 pts (c/b)  5th: Barry Gibbons  41 pts

Tuesday 1st January 2019 – Stableford 

Winner:   Anthony Smith  45 pts   2nd: Wayne Arnott  41 pts



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s