Funeral—Eddie Cram

Eddies Funeral will be held Thursday 29th 10am

Anglican Hall .  Kiama

Eddie Cram .  jamberoo pm 1i




News from the Course 24 March

A sad week for the club but tomorrow hopefully will bring some glad tidings with Jamberoo playing their fourth straight final in the White Horse Cup.

The final will be played at the Port Kembla Golf Club commencing about 9 am.

The opposition is the red-hot Kiama team who are defending their title and come in after mastering the Wollongong links last week with a 5-1 win over the strong Sussex Inlet team. Jamberoo conversely had a very narrow win over the gallant Highlands team needing extra holes to win 4-2.

It appears that we are the underdogs but I am sure that the ‘Cowpats’ will give a good showing and test the resolve of the Kiama team.

Go the Roo!

Ad Victoriam!

Don’t forget that volunteers are needed to help run any functions held at the club. If you  are willing to take the online examination to get your RSA then the club will support you by paying for the course.

Please contact the office if you are interested.

Rain has spoiled the Wednesday comp with only a handful of players risking the deluge to play in the chicken run. This means that only the Veterans and the Ladies managed to run comps mid-week. The Ladies played a stableford and the scoring was hot with Lisa Bell’s 40 points beating Shirley Walsh by one. In the Veterans Brian Bennett defeated Tony Dawson by one with his 41 points. Tony in turn knocked off John Pringle on a countback.

The Ladies this Tuesday are playing  their Ovarian Cancer Charity Day with a 3 person Hartball event. I’m sure it will be a very successful day with a large field expected.

Until next week.


Tuesday 20 March 2018 – Ladies Stableford  

Winner:    Lisa Bell 40 pts    2nd:    Shirley Walsh 39 pts

Ladies 9 Hole Stableford

Winner: Beverley Corfield 10 pts

Monday 19th March 2018 – Men’s Veterans Stableford 

Winner:   Brian Bennett 41 pts   2nd:   Tony Dawson 40 pts (c/b)



Vale Eddie Cram

In very sad news long standing member Eddie Cram has succumbed to a heart attack while away with many of his Jamberoo friends playing golf at Wellington.

He will be sadly missed by the members at Jamberoo. Funeral details will be published when they become available.

Eddie Cram


Volunteers Wanted


jamberoo pm 1

As you might know Jamberoo Golf Club has just obtained a Liquor Licence. As part of the responsibilities for having this licence is the Responsible Service of Alcohol.

We are requesting any member who has a RSA and would be prepared to help serve alcoholic beverages at the club to assist us on occasion. The Club is also prepared to sponsor any member who doesn’t have an RSA but would be prepared to take the on-line course and be available to help out.

If you are interested and can help please contact the office.

2018 Semi Finals

It was great to see so many members out supporting our teams today @ Wollongong.

Thanks Tony Panecasio, Larry Kent, Don Thompson and Peter Young and Scott, the Golden Cowpat. Great club spirit.

The final commences at 9.12 @ Port Kembla Golf Club.

“C” Pennant Report.

Jamberoo 2 v The Grange 3

“Shark’s leave the porch light on “

Jamberoo’s finest finished their pennants season today with a close defeat in hot conditions @ Wollongong Golf Course.

Tom Zimmermann W 3/2

Chris Leckey W 2up

Andrew Ball L 4/3

Wayne Griffiths L 6/4

Tim Young L 5/4

Along with Boyd Sylvester, the team had a tremendous year to qualify for the finals and they can hold their head’s high as they competed strongly in all games and played with great camaraderie and tenacity.

We thank all volunteers and supporters who followed us this year and now direct our support to the Great Cowpats who have qualified for next week’s final……..Good luck boys.

C Leckey


AD VICTORIUM                                                    

“The Wild Thing does the Highland Fling”

The Bishop, Prince Lucius, Arthurious 1, lead the charge against the Highlanders and a regular Battle Hardened force of 300 which are the average numbers the Cowpats are battling against each week when our 120 Saturday and Wednesday  members join Julius in a stroll down the Augusta of the South Links at Jamberoo .

Yes, Jamberoo have achieved finals status for the 4th year in a row in the WHC as we have out manoeuvred, utilised  stronger tactics discussed over Hyman’s Creek Bridge, better strategy under pressure with an internal force of numbers that Julius is inspirational in the saying, “I came, I saw, I conquered” with a better drilled BUT SMALLER  team.

In an unusual request at the end of the day, Golf Illawarra requested Jamberoo enter a spear throwing competition to determine the eventual winner.

The Team which could throw the spear the longest and most accurately was deemed to be the winner. Julius objected to these tactics as under normal Battle conditions Jamberoo had won.

This was an opportunity for Julius to practise his Wedding Speech in Latin to the Illawarra Golf Executive who heard ideologies such as Commitment, Truth, Honour and the Rules of Engagement that baffled them and who did not recover from the Antarctic blast of sound reasoning.

The Highlanders were also confused to the extent the Sun God got most annoyed and the temperature increased to almost unplayable (it was very hot). The ‘Wild Thing’ became the ‘Responsible, Accurate Thing’ for a brief three holes in which his opponent had no answer to the most accurate spears the Jamberoo Craftsmen could produce, with a reluctant beheading at the third extra hole.

One of the reasons Jamberoo battle successfully against better equipped teams is we have committed club members such as Don [Cornelius], the Lord of the Flies [Titus], Peter [Romanus], Tony [Quintus] and the Golden Cowpat who is always hovering to provide support which no other Battle Station Team  can draw on and their participation on Sunday was much appreciated.

The Cowpats appreciate your support and guidance.

Maximus and Octavious drew blood but not the extent of the other team members who went on to achieve a Memorable Victory for the Jamberoo Cowpats.

Pete Francis won 3/1

Shane Townsend won 2/1

Chris Goodwin lost 2 down

Col Booth lost 1 down

Matt Tedeschi won on the 21st

Arthur Bosanquet won 3/2


Colin Booth – Octavious



The training ground at Jamberoo Golf Club must be very good if one considers the number of ex-members playing pennants for other clubs. Nice to see you all again. Home still beckons if you want to return to freshen up your skills!